Background image for CIMMYT
  1. Home >
  2. About us >
  3. Governance >
  4. Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees


The Board of Trustees establishes the objectives and overall direction of CIMMYT, reviews and approves the center’s strategy, business plan and annual budget. Additionally, it sets and monitors various metrics of center management and performance. A key board responsibility is to appoint the Director General.

Organization and structure

CIMMYT’s Board of Trustees consists of internationally recognized and experienced experts with diverse backgrounds and skills. Current board members constitute a diverse pool of expertise in the areas of agricultural science, financial management, business management and economics, and other professional disciplines.

The Board of Trustees comprises up to thirteen voting members, ten of whom are elected and three of whom are ex officio members. The latter includes CIMMYT’s Director General and two representatives of the Government of Mexico.

Mexico’s Secretary of Agriculture is a non-voting, ex officio member and serves as honorary chair of the board.


The Board meets twice a year, regularly in April and October. It is the responsibility of the Board Secretary to organize the meetings, ensure proper documentation of the board’s business and support the Board Chair and other members.

The Board of Trustees works closely with specially formulated committees, which ensure efficient and effective implementation of the board’s business.

All committee members are Trustees, and CIMMYT’s Director General is an ex officio member of some of the committees. Director- and Unit Head-level staff serve as resource persons for the committee to which their responsibility most closely relates.

Name Full Board


& Risk
Program Human
Nominations Executive
Víctor Manuel Villalobos Arámbula (México) Ex officio member
Honorary Chair
José Fernando De La Torre Sánchez (México) Ex officio member Member Member Member
José Antonio Cueto Wong (México) Ex officio member Member
Martin Kropff (Netherlands) Ex officio member Member Member
Nicole Birrell (Australia) CHAIR Member Member Member Member Member
Neal Gutterson (USA) Member CO-CHAIR Member Member Member
Robert Semple (Ireland) Member CHAIR Member Member
Rita Mumm (USA) Member CO-CHAIR CHAIR Member
Feng Feng (China) Member Member Member
Bongiwe Njobe (South Africa) Member Member CHAIR Member Member
Ramesh Chand (India) Member Member
Johannes Hendricus de Roo (Netherlands) Member Member
William Angus (UK) Member Member
José Cacho Ribeiro (México) Member Member Member




Profile image for Nicole Birrell

Nicole Birrell

Director of SMS Management & Technology Ltd. and Victorian Plantations Corporation

Honorary Chair

Profile image for Víctor Manuel Villalobos Arámbula

Víctor Manuel Villalobos Arámbula

Mexico's Secretary of Agriculture and Rural Development


Profile image for William (Bill) Angus

William (Bill) Angus

International Wheat Consultant

Profile image for José Cacho

José Cacho

General Manager of Grupo Minsa, Vice-President of the National Agricultural Council, Counselor of the National Chamber of Industrialized Corn and Co-Chair of the World Economic Forum Project for the New Vision of Agriculture in Mexico

Profile image for Ramesh Chand

Ramesh Chand

Member, National Institution for Transforming India Aayog

Profile image for José Antonio Cueto Wong

José Antonio Cueto Wong

Research, Innovation and Partnerships Coordinator at INIFAP

Profile image for Feng Feng

Feng Feng

Executive Dean of the College of Advanced Agricultural Sciences, University of Chinese Academy of Sciences

Profile image for Neal Gutterson

Neal Gutterson

Vice President of Agricultural Biotechnology, DuPont Pioneer

Profile image for Martin Kropff

Martin Kropff

Director General

Profile image for Rita Mumm

Rita Mumm

Professor Emerita, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Principal at GeneMax Services

Profile image for Bongiwe Njobe

Bongiwe Njobe

Company Director and Consultant

Profile image for Bob Semple

Bob Semple

Company Director and Consultant

Profile image for José Fernando De La Torre Sánchez

José Fernando De La Torre Sánchez

General Director of Mexico's National Forestry, Crops and Livestock Research Institute (INIFAP)